galeo_logo

UPDATED: Information on SB350

Added on 2008-07-15
Written by MALDEF
Report Link: MALDEF_SB350_071508_Brochure.pdf

This informational sheet is provided for people that work with the immigrant community to prepare for the implemenation of SB350 on July 1, 2008. SB350 is the drive without a license and go to jail bill. It is in Spanish and English.

Here is the text:

***********************
***********************

SB 350: Drive without a License and Go To Jail
On July 1, 2008, a new law, SB 350, will come into effect in Georgia that will create harsh penalties for anyone stopped by a police officer who is driving without a license. Under this new law, the first conviction for driving without a license could result in deportation.

Summary of SB 350

1st conviction=misdemeanor
2 days to 12 months imprisonment
$500 to $1000 fine
Fingerprints taken and sent to Georgia Crime Information Center and Department of Driver’s Services.
The jail officials will try to determine your immigration status and if they cannot, they will notify the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

2nd/ 3rd convictions in five years=high aggravated misdemeanor: 10 days to 12 months imprisonment, $1000 to $2500 fine, and ICE notification.

4th conviction in five years=felony: 1 to 5 years imprisonment, $2500 to $5000 fine, and ICE notification.


How To Avoid The Effects Of SB 350

DO NOT DRIVE if you do not have a Georgia license.
Driving without a Georgia license is now a felony crime if you are convicted four times in five years. A felony crime could permanently bar you from ever legalizing your status in the United States. If you are undocumented, the first time you are arrested and/or convicted in Georgia for driving without a license after July 1, 2008, you may be deported.

Take a taxi, arrange a carpool, take MARTA, bike or walk to work.
It is not worth the risk to drive if you do not have a Georgia license. Arrange a carpool with a licensed driver. You will save gas and protect yourself from arrest and deportation.

Make sure your car is in good condition.
The police may now make more pretextual stops in order to arrest unlicensed drivers. If your car windows are tinted, a headlight is out, or you forget to use your turn signal to change lanes, the police can stop you and cite you for these minor infractions. They will ask for your driver’s license. If you do not have one, the police could arrest you and/or issue you a citation, depending on the circumstances.

Do not use or carry false documents! This is a serious crime. If you give the police false documents you will likely face serious criminal and immigration charges.

Driving Tips to Reduce Your Risk of Being Stopped
by the Police

Drive carefully: Learn the rules of the road and follow them as best you can.
Wear your seatbelt.
Put children six years of age and younger in a safety seat in the backseat.

DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE! Even one glass of alcohol may put you over the legal limit.
Do not drive with open containers of alcohol in the car.

Do not speed or drive too slowly.
Use your turn signals when switching lanes or making turns.
Do not run red or yellow lights.
Come to a complete stop at stop signs and lights.

Do not call attention to yourself by displaying flags or anything else on your vehicle including license plate frames that cover your license plate number.
Do not throw trash out of the window of your vehicle.
Do not play loud music.
Do not drive with cracked windshields.
Make sure your license tags are not expired.

Stay calm and alert.

If You are Arrested for Driving Without a License

If you are stopped by a police officer, remain in the car and keep your hands visible at all times. If the officer tells you to get out of the car, you should do so. Be respectful and polite. Give the officer your real name and your real age.

You have the right to not answer any questions about your nationality or immigration status.

If the officer writes you a ticket for a traffic violation, you should sign the ticket.

Make sure you memorize the telephone numbers for your family members and for your lawyer if you have one. Sometimes you may be able to get a bond and be released from jail.

Do not sign any papers at the jail without understanding what you are signing.

Make an emergency plan. Make arrangements for someone to take care of your children. Make sure you have a trustworthy person to take responsibility of your property and finances.

If you have questions about SB 350 or would like more information, please contact:

MALDEF
(678 559-1071
34 Peachtree Street NW, Suite 2500
Atlanta, GA 30303

Resources
National Immigration Law Center (NILC) “Know Your Rights” Card:
http://www.nilc.org/ce/nilc/rightscard_2007-03-15.pdf
Georgia Driver’s Manual: http://www.dds.ga.gov/docs/ormsFullDriversManual.pdf


***************

SPANISH/ESPANOL

***************

SB 350: Manejar Sin Licencia
Se Castiga Con Cárcel
A partir del primero de julio del 2008, una nueva ley entrará en vigor que creará severos castigos para cualquier persona que sea detenida por un policía que se encuentre manejando sin licencia. Bajo esta nueva ley, la primera condena por manejar sin licencia podría resultar en deportación.

Resumen de la Ley SB 350
1ra condena=delito menor:
De dos días hasta 12 meses de cárcel
Multa de 500 a 1000 dólares
Se tomarán las huellas y las enviarán al Centro de Información del Crimen de Georgia (GCIC) y al Departamento de Servicios del Tránsito.
Las autoridades de la cárcel intentarán determinar su estado migratorio y si no pueden verificarlo, notificarán al Departamento de la Seguridad Nacional (DHS).

2nda/ 3era condena en cinco años=alto y agravado delito menor: de 10 días a 12 meses de cárcel, Multa de 1000 a 2500 dólares, y Aviso al ICE.

4rta condena en cinco años=felonía (delito mayor): 1-5 años de cárcel, Multa de 2500 a 5000 dólares, y Aviso al ICE.

Cómo Evitar Los Efectos de la Ley SB 350

NO MANEJAR si no tiene licencia de Georgia.
Manejar sin licencia de Georgia es ahora una felonía si se le condena cuatro veces en cinco años. Una felonía podría arruinar las posibilidades de legalizar su estado migratorio en los Estados Unidos. Si usted es indocumentado, la primera vez que le arresten y/o le condenen en Georgia por manejar sin licencia a partir del primero de julio del 2008, podría ser deportado.

Tomar un taxi, planear viajes compartidos, tomar el bus o el tren, andar en bicicleta o caminar al trabajo.
No vale la pena arriesgarse a manejar si no tiene licencia de Georgia. Planear un viaje compartido con un conductor que tenga licencia válida. Se ahorrará la gasolina y se protegerá del arresto y de la deportación.

Asegúrese que su vehículo esté en buenas condiciones.
Ahora la policía podría detenerlo bajo cualquier pretexto con el fin de arrestar los conductores sin licencia. Si las ventanas de su vehículo están polarizadas, si tiene fundidas las luces delanteras o si se le olvida poner las direccionales para cambiar de vía, la policía puede pararlo y citarlo por estas infracciones menores. Le solicitarán su licencia. Si no la tiene, la policía podría arrestarlo y/o darle una citación, según las circunstancias.

¡No utilizar o portar documentos falsos! Esto es un delito grave. Si usted le presenta a la policía documentos falsos, es probable que enfrentará serios cargos tanto criminales como migratorios.

Consejos Para Manejar Con El Objeto De Reducir
Su Riesgo de Ser Detenido por la Policía

Maneje Con Precaución: Aprenda Las Reglas de la Carretera y Obedézcalas Lo Mejor Que Pueda.
Lleve Su Cinturón de Seguridad.
Coloque Los Niños Menores de Seis Años de Edad en Un Asiento Elevado Llamado “Booster” en El Asiento Trasero del Vehículo.

¡NO TOMAR Y MANEJAR! Incluso Una Sola Bebida Alcohólica Puede Ponerle Sobre El Límite Legal.
No Maneje Con Bebidas Alcohólicas Abiertas en Su Vehículo.

No Sobrepase El Límite de Velocidad y No Maneje Muy Lentamente.
Utilice Sus Direccionales Cuando Cambie de Vía o Cuando De Vuelta.
No Cruce La Intersección Cuando La Luz Está en Amarillo o Rojo.
Deténgase Completamente Ante La Señal de Alto.

No Llame La Atención Mostrando Banderas o Cualquier Otra Cosa en Su Vehículo Incluso Las Portaplacas Decorativas Que Obstruyen a Los Números.
No Tire Basura Desde Su Vehículo Hacia Las Calles.
No Ponga La Música a Volumen Alto.
No Maneje Un Vehículo Con El Parabrisas Estrellado.
Asegúrese Que Sus Placas No Estén Vencidas.
Manténgase Tranquilo y Alerto.

Si Usted Es Arrestado Por Manejar Sin Licencia

Si la policía lo detiene, quédese en su vehículo y mantenga sus manos visibles a todo momento. Si el policía le pide que salga de su vehículo, debe asentir. Sea respetuoso y cortés. Déle al policía su nombre y su edad verdadera.

Usted tiene el derecho de no responder a cualquier pregunta acerca de su nacionalidad o estado migratorio.
Si el policía le da una citación por una infracción del tránsito, la debe firmar. En la cárcel, tiene el derecho de contactar a su familia. Asegúrese de memorizar los números telefónicos de sus familiares y de su abogado si lo tiene. A veces puede conseguir una fianza y ser liberado.

No firme ningún documento en la cárcel si no entiende el contenido.

Hacer un plan de emergencia. Arreglar con alguien para el cuidado de sus hijos. Asegúrese de tener a una persona honesta para responsabilizarse de su propiedad y de sus finanzas.

Si Usted tiene alguna pregunta acerca del SB 350 o si desea mas información, favor de contactar:
MALDEF
(678) 559-1071
34 Peachtree Street NW, Suite 2500
Atlanta, GA 30303
Recursos
Centro Nacional de Ley Inmigratoria (NILC) Tarjeta “Conocer Sus
Derechos” http://www.nilc.org/ce/nilc/rightscard_2007-03-15.pdf
Manual para el Conductor del Estado de Georgia:
http://www.dds.ga.gov/docs/formsFullDriversManual.pdf


About Us | Contact Us | Administration | ©2005 GALEO